Does anyonge know about this Yamaha CGS102A beginner classical guitar?

I’m pretty much a beginner (starting over) starting with the basics. I did play as a teen a bit but then cut my finger and stopped.

I have a beginner acoustic guitar with metal strings but I want to learn how to play bossa nova so I also want a cassical guitar with nylon strings for the bossa nova.

I found this Yamaha CGS102A Half-Size on Amazon today and was wondering if it is garbage or decent. I’m a petite female with small hands.

I appreciate any and all feedback. Thank you.

Yamaha CGS102A Half-Size Classical Guitar

I’m no expert but my understanding of the term bossa nova refers to a particular beat. Any style of guitar can be used to learn to play any beat/rhythm style.

I’ve no idea what your budget is. However the Yamaha guitar you’re suggesting is very bottom end and to quote you, ‘garbage’. No matter what your existing guitar is this one won’t be any better.

Do a search on the Community site and you’ll find loads of posts about ‘what guitar should I buy’. Your budget is the governing factor so save your cash and then buy the best guitar you can afford.

In the meantime get stuck into Justin’s lessons and get all the basics under your fingers.

1 Like

I would agree, that is probably not the way to go. You are in San Francisco, so there must be a GC or other store where you can try them out.

Half size is small. There are plenty of small people playing normal sized guitars and classical guitars are not that big. They also have 12 fret necks, so are shorter in general.

At that price range and only a little above, there are a bunch of used instruments that are likely to be better. Look at “Next Door” or Craigslist. There also seem to be about a million used instrument stores in the SF area.

A used Cordoba C5 won’t set you back much more and will be miles ahead of the mat Yamaha.

1 Like