Does the App go beyond grade 1 and 2?

Total newbie to all this and also very tech challenged. 1st, the F chord. Is it really all that important. My fingers just aren’t that great at gymnastics. I feel it’s going to beat me. Also, I bought the app but only have in the modules, grades 1 and 2. Are further grades another purchase? Cheers

1 Like

Well yes… it’s a common chord used in thousands of songs you hear every single day. Also, the idea of barre chords… which the F chord is… is also a fundamental part of playing guitar. If you never get comfortable with F then you’re never going to get comfortable with other barre chords either, seriously limiting your scope as a guitar player.

Which is because, as you said yourself, you are a total newbie. Finger strength, dexterity and independence does not come instantly. It takes lots and lots of time and practice. Months or even years, not days and weeks. Practice and you’ll improve. Don’t and you won’t.

If you go to the website you will have access to all grades currently available. The app only has 1 & 2, with no time frame on when further grades will be added.

2 Likes

Hi Cate, welcome to the community! I’m no longer a newbie I guess, but I am a beginner (mid-way thorugh Grade 2). Here are some comments based on my learning experience:

F chord: As @Goffik said, it’s important. That said, it’s not necessarily important today - I didn’t get to it until I’d been playing for several months. And it took several months before I could play it clearly and switch to and from other chords - sometimes. But now I’m playing songs that use it! Most of us struggle with F, but stick with Justin’s guidance (as well as the good guidance from this community) and you’ll get there.

The app: As Goffik also mentioned, it’s only grades one and two. I use the app a lot - it’s portable, and I especially like it for playing songs. But I really like the lessons as they are delivered on the web. You might want to check that out.