Don't You Forget About Me

…and after watching this you’d wish you could forget it!

I’ve been playing on and off for 18 months or so, and completed Justin’s Beginner section, but think I’ve lost my way a bit. Anyway, I thought I’d post this as I’ve never played in front of anyone, or with anyone for that matter, and I know my thumb is a bit high over the neck, but I don’t seem to be able to control the neck with it lower down. Any advice welcome.
Also, I know there’s a bit of a stumble after the 2nd “intro” - lost my place!

8 Likes

That’s working for me Graham. Nice playing and your chord changes and strumming rhythm seem good. Didn’t notice the stumble you’ve mentioned but we’re always our own worst critics!

What I would say though is slow down, you’re playing way faster than the original and it almost feels like you’re rushing to get through the song. The sets of intro chords, before and after “hey, hey, hey, heeey” for example need to have time to breathe. Your playing is tight enough that it doesn’t need it, let it flow imo.

Liked it though nice work :+1: :clap:

1 Like

Hi Graham,
Not very original of me to say, but Mark put it well as far as I’m concerned…you play and switch tight enough to slow down a bit…so well done :sunglasses: and room for some improvement on an easy way :musical_score:
Greetings ,Rogier

Sounds good! Cord changes and strumming are smooth. I think a little fast, and I get the sense that, like me, you speed up a little as you go.

I am similarly experienced to you with a bit less than 1.5 years. So my thoughts are limited.

I am trying to use a metronome to keep me steady. I saw a video once where the player was speaking about knowing your own tendencies. Do you tend to speed up or slow down as the song progresses? Then you can check yourself.