Ed’s learning log

Greetings fellow musicians,
11/01/2023 - I felt like it was time to start a learning log to track my playing. I started playing in May of 2023 I’m retired and have time to practice and enjoy the journey. I finished grade 1 and I’m hoping to stay put for a while and master the chords I’m working on and master all the proper techniques I should have in my tool box before moving onto grade 2.

The chords are the 8 beginner chords plus Fmaj7 and Cmaj7. Kinda stuck on Old Faithful strumming pattern so I definitely need to address that. Playing all the riff’s I learned in grade 1 fairly well.

I have an inexpensive acoustic guitar but as the local music shop owner recently told me you can learn to play on a cheap guitar as well as you can on an expensive one it doesn’t matter. I’m not sure when to buy another one or which one I should buy electric or electric acoustic.

This recording was done about 2 months ago. I want to start posting some videos here to see my progress. I need to work on another one because I feel like my playing is a little better.

11/09/2023 - Well rookie mistake turned into a positive I think! So I went to practice a little and play some songs on my acoustic guitar the only guitar I have and on the first strum it sounded hideous lol! Apparently because of turning the heat on at my house due to cooler temps it changed the tune of my guitar.

So being the rookie I am I turned on my neck tuner and failed to put it on G or guitar and could not get it tuned up. Knowing I have a way of turning mistakes into disasters I immediately took it to my local guitar shop and of course we all had a good laugh over it.

Then I saw it a beautiful (to me) Ephiphone Les Paul whispering to me “have a strum” well I did and oh my! It’s the first time I held an electric guitar and l’m in love! I’m 64 and my children are having a lot of fun with it also!

She’s a beaut! Love the traveling amp lol!
@Richard_close2u

10 Likes

Well done Ed!