Elixir Nanoweb Phosphor Bronze 10-47 - Cort Earth OP 70

Hi everyone!

I’m an advancing beginner and I’m at grade 3 now. Came back from grade 4, when the new grade 3 was released.

So, I recently bought new strings to my Cort Earth OP 70 acoustic guitar. I decided to buy a bit more expensive strings and bought these Elixir Nanoweb 10-47 strings to my guitar.

They seem very slippery, and I’m wondering does anyone have experience on these strings? Does the coating wear off at some point or are they going to be as slippery the whole time?

I’m thinking that it’s quite difficult to play chords when the strings feel like there is oil on them, so I’m considering to buy some different strings.

Does anyone have any recommendations to my Cort?

Br. Riku

Hi Riku,

The first set of strings on my acoustic was Elixir Acoustic 80/20 bronze with Nanoweb coating. Looking back now having switched to D’Addario, it was indeed more “slippery”, but I don’t remember it having become more rugged with time. It probably wasn’t as distracting to me as it was my first-ever set of strings.

In any case, if you still feel uncomfortable with it after a few days, just replace them. At the moment I’m using D’Addario XT acoustic phosphor bronze strings. They are less slippery and have a nice, not too bright sound.

Riku, I’m far from an expert.

That said, I have used Elixir coated strings before and don’t recall finding them “slippery”, nor the coated D’Addario’s I am currently using. I also don’t recall the feel changing as they aged.

Maybe give it some time to get used to them as maybe it is just unfamiliar. And if it remains uncomfortable then chalk it up to experience and try something else, perhaps a better quality uncoated set of strings than what you had before.

Thank you all for your responses!