End of the Line by The Traveling Wilburys Lesson

Learn to play End of the Line by The Traveling Wilburys on JustinGuitar!

View the full lesson at End of the Line by The Traveling Wilburys | JustinGuitar

Great lesson, appreciate it much. However the intro “riff” chords aren’t crystal clear to me, except the “D-fingering” ones. I don’t get the 10’th and 12’th fret chords. I’d appreciate the fingering for them. Cheers!

1 Like

Hi Larry I’m by no means an expert but I think I know enough to be able to answer you.

At the 10th fret you have basically what is called a triad. In this case the top part of the D barre chord. The D chord is normally fretted as 10 12 12 11 10 10 (D A D F# A D). If you drop the D A D bit on the 6th, 5th and 4th string, you still have all the notes you need to play a D chord - just 3 notes is all you need (“triad”).

The twelvth fret chord Justin plays here is x x 0 12 12 12 (x x D G B E). The G B E are the notes in the Em chord. So this is just one other way to play an Em (with a D base).

Hope that helped!

cheers.

2 Likes

Thanks Gertvr, that makes sense. Thanks for clearing it up, cheers!

Edit: also the chord at the 12th fret is a triad of course as it consists of the top 3 notes of the Em barre chord in this case.

1 Like

Thanks so much for showing us how this great song should be played Justin. I have been trying to play and sing along with it for a while now, but you’ve just made it all so much simpler for me. Cheers :+1:

1 Like

Thanks so much Justin for making a lesson of this song, and it’s so cool to me that I can learn in in Grade 1 (once I learn the G chord). I love this song so much I can easily see myself trying the more advanced things once I get there, (yeah, it’ll be a while, but something to look forward to!)