F Bar chord first finger position

So the only way I can get the F Bar chord bottom 2 strings to sound good is to position the first finger with the bottom 2 strings pressing at the red lines of my finger ( image ) . However I’m not sure if the tip of the finger is sticking out too far (image 2 ) . If I press at the blue lines then the tip of the finger does not reach the low E string. I can not press anywhere in the yellow highlighted area. Any advice ?

Thick E string should be near the tip

Looks like you are using the flat of your index finger rather than the side

1 Like

Hello Gene, fellow beginner here (just starting Grade 3). I do think your finger is too far over the fret board. When I learned F, I had the same trouble you’re having. The best advice I can give is to re-watch the video of the lesson and focus on the various tips Justin gives. (The text on the website is helpful as a reminder of them.) Beginning at 4:30 in the lesson he describes why it’s a bad habit to have the finger sticking out so far. Further on he’ll give suggestions on rolling the finger to the side to maximize contact with the firmer parts (it doesn’t appear from your photo that you’ve quite got this). Remember, for F you only need to depress strings 1,2, and 6! As I recall it took me several weeks before I found a position that will work. Keep us posted on your progress!

I’m using the side ( in the photo looks like the flat ) . If I lower the finger the B or high E string would be in the yellow area ( at the joint where the finger bends ). That area is very sensitive (has very little tissue and close to the bone). It’s very painful for me to press the strings in that area. I can press further down at the blue lines but the tip will not reach the Low E

Yes, I’m aware that being over the top is not optimal. That is why I’m asking for advice. Also, I’m rolling the finger and using the side ( but in the photo it looks like flat )