Fat Strat Blues Jr clean tone?

Hello - I’m fairly new to playing guitar seriously. I have a fender fat strat (Hss) and a fender blues junior amp. Any suggestions on getting a clean tone? For now I’m practicing the basic open chords and some left hand exercises but would love to hear that clean Strat sound as I practice.

Hmm

People suggest dial the volume of the guitar down to 6-7.

The volume low and the master volume high

It’s a relative one trick pony amp6

The other suggestion seems to be but a Princeton…

And welcome to the forum!

1 Like

I suggest:

• Keep your preamp volume (that’s “Volume”, rather than “Master”) on the lower side of the dial. This is the biggest key to keeping the tone clean.
  • Fat switch off (this is another key to keeping it clean)
  • Master volume to taste (like all of us, you’ll probably perceive louder as better)
  • Start with amp tone controls (bass/middle/treble) at around the 12 o’clock position (i.e., between 6 and 7). You can adjust these to taste, later. As a side-note, on a Blues Jr. putting all tone controls in the middle like this gives you more of a scooped tone than a flat tone, which is not an intuitive result, but it’s how the Blues Jr.'s tone stack is set up.
  • Reverb on 3 or so. (That’s the value 3, NOT the 3 o’clock position. Again, you can adjust this to taste.)
  • I’d start with your guitar on its neck pickup. That’s subjective, but a Strat’s neck pickup is a great foundation for beautiful clean tones. (It’s worth noting that single coils usually have a lower output compared to humbuckers, and lower output pickups have more “head room” before they start making the amp dirty. All that depends on the exact pickups in question and the rest of the rig, though, and I’m definitely not suggesting you can’t play clean with a humbucker…)
1 Like

A tubescreamer pedal into this amp offers lots of variety to your sound. In fact fender clean amp, strat single coils and a tubescreamer is one of the classic sounds.