Feedback on open mic night

Hi all,

I’m new to this community and have come here after watching Justin’s singing video. I’m also very new to open mics and have only done 3 (the 3rd being earlier this week).

I feel even in this short space of time I’ve got a lot more comfortable at performing but watching the other performances on the night I’m asking the questions ‘how can I improve?’. There were some really great guitarists and singers there and I want to know a little bit about what separates them from me. Therefore, I was hoping some of you could watch my performance and give me some feedback on what you think (please be nice). If you see this could you maybe tell me what you like so I can keep doing that going forward and what you didn’t like so I can work on that or change it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The link to the performance on YouTube is below:

7 Likes

Kudos on getting out there and playing George. One of the things not to do too much is compare yourself to others… you’ve got no idea how long they have been playing for and it’s almost certainly longer than you.

How long have you actually been playing? If not long I really wouldn’t worry more practice and more effort and you’ll improve.

Don’t be too hard on yourself.

The above said ( and the video isn’t the best judge from) I would suggest a few things to look at.

First I don’t think the song is the greatest for acoustic ( great for a band not so much solo) so you might want to look at something else.

Second you haven’t got the vocal phrasing quite right in parts so you’re your rushing or squeezing words in and it all sounds a bit messy. I would listen hard to the original and sing along with it until you can sing that song as it sounds on the record ( without playing along). Then start doing it whilst playing.