Fire and Rain | James Taylor | December '23 AVOYP

This is my first attempt at performing a fingerstyle song. It sure is different from what I usually do and it felt pretty awkward, even vulnerable. But it’s a skill I’d like to have in my bag, so there we go.

It’s a lovely tune with a nice mixture of triad shapes and open chord embellishments, so that’s always good exercise. Remembering the various picking patterns and getting them up to speed was the hardest part.

I tried to sing it but that didn’t work out as I’d hoped. The vocal melody falls in between the beats sometimes which makes it go pear-shaped. Not to speak of singing in tune. Someday, maybe. :slight_smile:

Thanks for listening and I hope you enjoy it.

21 Likes

Really solid finger style version there Jeff.
There’s a lot of different elements to get right all through the song, and JT’s grips can be tricky too, especially some of the hammer ons so well done for getting a great tone throughout.

1 Like

That was really good Jeff - You’ve clearly got the guitar part and the vocals down, you are probably closer than you think to combining them, the picking needs to be just a little more automatic and you’ll be there.

1 Like

Thanks but those are James’ vocals mate. :wink:

Ah, I thought you’d put them on a separate track :rofl:

1 Like

Real sweet Jeff @Jeff
A very enjoyable listen for sure. You did great!

I’m with you. I want to have fingerstyle skills in my music too.
And like you, I’m working on it.
Thanks for the share.

1 Like

Very nicely played Jeff. :+1:

1 Like

I was pretty AMAZED at how much you sounded like Mr. Taylor!!! :+1:t2:

Seriously though, really, really good… nothing to criticize or critique here!!! So soothing to watch and listen!!!
Thanks for sharing!!!

Tod

1 Like

That’s one hell of a first attempt at performing a fingerstyle song. You did great. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Sounds great , top playing !

1 Like