First Recording - Mad World

This is my first time recording myself playing a song. I didn’t have the microphone placed correctly so the guitar overpowers some of the vocals which is probably OK since my singing is still a work in progress.

Welcome any critique. I do realize that my strumming could be better but I am struggling with singing if there are up-strums. Need to work more on that.

16 Likes

That was great first video, well done Craig! I love this song (Gary Jules / Donnie Darko version). It was one of the early songs I learnt. I played old faithful pattern, I think it works better than four down strums. However, it is not perfect. I struggle to find the “proper” pattern for this song. I think no strumming will be perfect with this song/version as it is played on a piano with tones “dancing” up and down making the most important part of the feeling. The closest I got to that feeling on a guitar is to arpeggiate over chords to try to resemble the piano. Singing along is not easy with any song, you are on the right path there.

1 Like

Congrats on the first AVOYP, Craig. The first is the hardest.

You are making good progress. I didn’t pick up anything specific to point out. So just keep doing what you are doing, working on the strumming and the chords, playing songs, songs, songs and making those recordings.

2 Likes

Well done, :clap:

R

1 Like

Craig

Excellent first performance. Good, consistent rhythm and probably a very good voice in the background. Well done.

Brian

1 Like

Well done on your first AVOYP. Very solid performance :slight_smile:

You’ve got good rhythm. It seemed fairly consistent through-out the song. As somebody else mentioned, playing and singing at the same time is very difficult, so well done.

I only have a couple of small suggestions: You could try slowing it down a little, it feels like it’s little bit too fast for mood of the song