Follow your dream

Iā€™m in my 13th year of playing guitar, started back then with Justin Guitar and havenā€™t looked back. When I started playing, my goal was to learn songs that others would sing along to around a campfire. Just came back from a wonderful musoā€™s gathering where I got to see my dream realized (again) and itā€™s just the best feeling.

The gathering was an old timey group with 50 to 60 musicians there (best guess) camping along the great dividing range in the Northern Rivers area of New South Wales in Australia. Iā€™m still a beginner when it comes to old timey music, as long as I have a chord sheet around I can make it through all the songs but struggled with some of the old timey jams around the fire with a whole plethora of really good musicians. Double bass, fiddle, banjo, mandolin and plenty of guitars.

Saturday evening, at the camp kitchen I kicked off a more folky / covers session leading the first song and then swapping songs with another very talented acoustic singer on her guitar. We swapped tunes probably for about an hour and had others singing along and cheering after every song. I really had to pinch myself a couple of times realizing how real my dream come true was.

Iā€™m not a brilliant musician so please donā€™t think itā€™s out of reach for any of you just starting out. When I started I struggled withe that blasted barre F chord the same as you do. :smiley:

Being able to play my usual repertoire from memory is great in such sessions as thereā€™s no shuffling through your music sheets to find the next song, as soon as she finished a song, Iā€™d be in with another and vice versa. The flow just kept flowing.

Find your dream and chase it! It feels great when you catch it.

22 Likes