For UK Folks: Practice Acoustic wanted to buy, rent, or borrow

Hello UK Friends! I’m a US resident planning to visit the UK (Lake District) for a couple months starting mid-September 2022. I’d like to keep up my practicing during my holiday, but for various reasons I’m not able to bring my own guitar. I’d like to explore options to enable me to keep going during the trip, and would welcome your suggestions. Here are some of my ideas:

Idea #1–Buy a starter guitar in the UK, then sell at the end of the trip. Something like a Yamaha FS800, FG800, F310 or equivalent from other brands. I’m sure there are reasonable options on Ebay or equivalent, or perhaps somebody has one they’d like to sell?? I would try to resell for about 10-20% less upon leaving, and this difference would be worth it to keep up my practice. Suggestions on how to quickly sell at the end of the trip are appreciated.

Idea #2–Rent a guitar from somewhere for my trip. Not sure where I would do this, any suggestions? Anybody want to rent one they have lying around?

Idea #3–Borrow from someone and return to them at the end of the trip. Anybody feel particularly gracious and want to let me use theirs for a couple months?

I’m guessing option #1 is the most practical and predictable, but welcome your ideas. Thanks in advance

I’d go for buying something affordable yet playable.
That is more fun when you’re there; going into a shop and picking something up, testing a few guitars! :smiley:

1 Like

I’d go for option #3, Bob :wink:
You can borrow my Fender C60 if you like.
I believe instruments should lead interesting lives, just like their caretakers :smiley:
I don’t know much about this one’s heritage. My daughter found it in a skip (dumpster) in Edinburgh and brought it home when to me. It cleaned up nicely, but could do with another string change.