For What It's Worth

Hi,

This is my first time recording and reviewing back in quite this way and it came out a bit of a rougher performance than I’d like… But rather than discard or keep refining - as part of the learning process and crossing the hurdle of my first AVOYP posting I’d still upload and share. :pensive:

My immediate observations: From a performance point of view - I’m aware listening back that the tempo drifts out a bit especially in the middle, I miss on one of the D Chord changes and I’m not sure about the tone. There’s quite a rasp sound (not sure if that is the term) that I’d not noticed just listening as I play rather than listening to the recording. From a composition point of view - I’m playing along to the original and so improvising the pattern a bit. The main guitar part in the video and the harmonics (I didn’t splice the video of that in in the end) are audio and I created the bass and drum parts as midi based on looking around and listening and adjusting a bit. I’d probably tweak more if I came back to it and drop it out towards the end when the solo guitar kicks in more.

For me - this was a snapshot and a bit of an experiment to see where I would get to doing the recording, video, backing track etc and next time I’ll focus more on the guitar part… :grin: I’ll also look up the solo and add it to the list to look at when I get into looking more at lead guitar.

Thanks!

Al

ps - not sure if there is interest in this side of it but here’s a screenshot from the Logic project. One thing that massively complicated things was that the original isn’t to a click track (not surprisingly) so is hard to line up to a grid and play along to both original and programmed tracks…

8 Likes

Hi Al,
For what it’s worth, that was a great starting post :smiley:
Regular relaxed strumming action, clean chord changes, nice balance between guitar and backing track… and using the DAW on top of it all.