Fortunate Son - SteveL - my first electric guitar video and cheap recording setup- also House of the Rising Sun March2023

This is my first recorded video playing on an electric guitar and it shows. I have been practicing this for a few months, but playing live in front of a camera really turns my fingers to clay. My acoustic guitar recording looks and sounds relatively polished, but I’ve played beginner level songs in public for more than 40 years. I got interested in electric in 1999 and have just played around learning a few riffs. So this is my first song. After 7 takes, I decided to use the last take, mistakes and all, to show that you can be a beginner again, when you change instruments or styles.
Also I decided to show just how cheap you can go when playing electric. I am using my Fender Mustang Micro headphone amp and running through cheap PC speakers that cost 15 to 20 US dollars. I’ll improve the audio on later recordings of this song that I add as I improve my playing.

Well here it is, mistakes and all, but at least the power chord tone and rhythm wasn’t too bad.

https://youtu.be/c_ZMfp0xkjM

16 Likes

Great effort, and I can see progress.
Doing it is progress, and you will definitely get smoother and better as you do it more.
Love your enthusiasm!
Have fun!

1 Like

That was good stuff Steve. You certain can tell what the song is. Keep at it to polish it up, though that redlight fever sure can mess with your digits.

I thought it sounded good as well for such a cheap setup. :+1:

1 Like

Great job and kudos for recording and posting.