Getting Worse How?

I’ve been learning for around 8 months. I practice at least 5 days a week for 45min - hour. I seem to be getting worse. I’ve been trying to learn a 4 chord song for 2 months. It’s getting worse almost every time I try. I know some people are musically inclined but I’m beginning to think it’s just not possible.

I’ve been learning for about the same time as you and I’ve been there. Whenever I get to that point where I feel stuck or worse, I’m not playing as good as I did before I stop and play easier stuff for a week or 2. Learn a song that’s a little under where you’re at. Or try your hand at something completely different. If you are having difficulty learning some acoustic open chord songs then try your hand on some power chord ones or vice versa.

Point is just clear your head for a little while. You don’t want to burn out and quit all together. Guitar is just putting fingers at the right place and the right time. barring any serious hand-eye coordination issues, anyone can get a certain level of competence. At least that’s how I see it.

4 Likes

Chin up John, it takes a while.

Sometimes it feels like you’re not making progress and then all of a sudden two or three bits will just click together as one.

It can help to record some of your attempts along the way so that you can see or hear improvements along the way. As you learn, your ears will become more in tune as to what sounds good, this is progress in itself but you will be noticing more ‘imperfections’ in Your practice.

I found that my mindset changed somewhere along the route, I thought playing songs was the goal, or to be able to play at parties whatever. Although these are all realistic long term goals I became more at peace with my guitar practice when I started to just enjoy the process of learning. It’s just ‘me time’ when I give myself half hour or whatever to chill and wind down.