Ghost notes, Oooooooo

Please could someone let me know what a ghost note is and how you play it?

I’m looking at this and it say’s the notes in the ( ) are ghost notes.

Thanks. :slight_smile:

RHCP

I thought they were just when you hit the strings unintentionally whilst strumming :thinking:

1 Like

In this instance does it not mean that the notes in the brackets can be optionally played for embellishments.

1 Like

Always thought they meant that you don’t play it but the previously rang note is still ringing, but that can’t be true for some those notes.

1 Like

Yes and no. You could fret them but not pick them for that barely noticeable sound.

1 Like

In this instance I think because the bit in ghost notes is played by Flea on bass rather than John on electric, so it’s optional rather than a classical understanding of ghost notes.

2 Likes

I never hit an unintentional string, it must be ghosts! :scream::man_facepalming:t3::roll_eyes:

4 Likes

I am no expert as well, but I understand it this way… I think that It means that the notes should continue to ring out, by not taking the finger of.

So, when fretting the E on the D-String (2nd fret) you should leave the finger there until you take it off only to hammer it back on again. Same goes for the C at the end (3rd fret, a string) and the open d string.

The ghost note on the first c (3rd fret a string) seems to be just wrong, just play it normally and you should be fine. If it sounds weird, just compare it with other tabs, there should be enough for this riff :wink:

Leaving the fingers in the frets gives the riff a nice “flow”, you would not have when taking the fingers off; it would sound kinda “cut off” or “interrupted”.

But what do I know, I am no expert either :sweat_smile:

1 Like