Grade 2 Mod 8 - Wish You were Here

I worked on this as part of the Grade 2 Mod 8 where we learn the Riff. I have to say that I’ve agonised over this and played around with different Capo positions, slightly different approaches to the strumming and the vocal and after some time I’m really still not happy but then I realised that I’m a beginner and this is part of the journey and at the moment this is probably about as good as it gets in that journey :thinking: :roll_eyes:

Some AVOYPs that I have done I feel comfortable with the result but this has been a struggle, maybe because its such an iconic track and I expect to be able to recreate it, I don’t know. I went around in circles trying to find a key where I was happy with the vocal to suit, and ended up just running with this :face_with_spiral_eyes: as I say I think that I have to accept that this is where things are at right now. As the journey progresses this will definitely be on the list of ones to revisit with new techniques.

Both Gtr and Voc were through the SM58 you can see via AI - Reaper - OBS.

Anyway, for now, here it is. I’m happy to hear your comments guys as always. :grimacing:

24 Likes

Solid performance Craig, vox were fine and well balanced with the guitar. Well done.
:sunglasses:

1 Like

Great performance if I can give one tip is in your picking parts try not to look at strings. But to me other then that pretty solid.

Hi Craig,
Grade 2 Mod 8 and this playing with your nice singing :clap: :sunglasses: :clap:
Let`s find a campfire :smiley:
Greetings

1 Like

This sounds overall really good to my ear! You sing very well and…oh the tone of your guitar is really sweet, your strumming on the strings very gentle too. Bravo :blush:

Very well done, Craig! :clap:

Singing and playing sounded very pleasant to my ear, mic placement was well chosen. Both guitar and vocals were well balanced. :+1: