Greetings from Janice in East Coast Canada

Good Afternoon and Morning everyone,

My name is Janice, I’m a beginner guitar play, and primarily using the Justin Guitar app. I like that it feels like a real lesson and personal, I don’t think you get that from other apps. I always wanted to be able to play an instrument but couldn’t sit still long enough when I a kid. So when COVID first arrived I bought myself a little guitar. My guitar is a Recording King Dirty 37 Parlour, acoustic… small body - Big sound. I’m learning to play without a pick to limit the volume as I live in an apartment building. I think it’s going alright so far … at least no noise complaints and my strumming is slowly coming along. Plus I’m really enjoying it.

14 Likes

Welcome to the forum Janice from Western Canada

2 Likes

Welcome Janice!

I know the neighbor’s problem. When I got my acoustic and also tried to sing for some extended time I got called out.

Gladly in summer I just go out and search spots to sing my soul out. Gotta find somewhere to jam in winter though. Maybe keep a lookout for jam buddies with practice rooms :stuck_out_tongue:

So maybe you can find someplace too to play a bit louder from time to time. It can be fun :wink:

Anyhow, much fun with your guitar-playing and learning journey!

1 Like

Hi Janice, welcome to the group.

1 Like

Hi Janice,
Nice to meet you. I know what you mean about Justin being personal, it gives me a lift just hearing his ‘hey how you doing’ greeting.
Good luck with the playing, I am also conscious of disturbing neighbours and until recently have played with a cover over guitar soundhole. Might be an option for you so you can use a pick.
Best wishes,

Alan

2 Likes

Hi again Janice!

Ever since seeing Anne of Green Gables years ago, I’ve had a picture of Eastern Canada in my mind that is beautiful & picturesque! Not sure if I’ll ever visit Prince Edward Island, but the photos are beautiful! What part of Eastern Canada :canada: is “yours”?