Greetings!

Hello all!

My name is Travis and I’m from Western New York, south of Buffalo (Go BILLS!!!). I’m 40 years old, have a wife, a daughter, two sons, a dog and 12 chickens. I have been teaching High School History for 14 years, and I coached Football and Basketball for the majority of those 14 years.

I picked up a guitar in May of 2020 without having a clue what to do with it. As all of you, it’s a long story, but I hit it hard and I haven’t stopped.

I am currently blended between Grades 3, 4, and 5, though I have completed the majority of grades 3 and 4. I have never taken a live or proper lesson from anybody, but I have been following Justin since the beginning, so I consider him my mentor. I have always been passionate about music but never knew how to play any of it. I have been singing for a long time but never took it seriously until I picked up a guitar.

I have posted several recordings in AVOYP: A collection of my recordings - 2 years learning with Justin
Plus a live recording: Badfish—Sublime (Live)

The story continues….

I’m looking forward to listening to/interacting with all of you!

10 Likes

Hi Travis and welcome!

Sounds like you have a full house! Glad to have you here and looking forward to hearing more from you. What types of music do you enjoy playing?

2 Likes

Hey Travis. Good to see you’ve posted an introduction post. It’s been 20 years since I was in New York. I was supposed to go back a few years ago but holiday got cancelled due to covid. Interesting reading that you’re blended between Grades 3, 4 and 5. Does that mean you’re going over the new Grade 3 but at the same time refreshing on Grades 4 and 5? That was some really good AVOYPs you posted. Looo forward to following your progress mate.

2 Likes

Hi Travis, welcome to the community

2 Likes

Thank you!! That’s pretty much exactly it with the grades. I finished grade 3 a bit less than a year ago, pretty much finished grade 4, and am about half way through grade 5.