Guitar effects vs modeling amps for beginners

Hi everyone
I’m new to guitar and I’ve got myself a Marshall MG15 and been practicing for some time.
The amp tone is not bad but it’s missing some features like reverb so I’ve been thinking of maybe getting a multi-effect processor of some sorts or a more feature rich amp.
I was wondering what would be the better option for a beginner?

2 Likes

Welcome to the community.

A multifx unit will plug into your existing Marshall MG15, and will extend it’s capabilities, but you are going to be limited by the capabilities of the amp. The MG15 is quite a small amp and that will affect the sound you get from it.

But if you are happy with the general sound you are getting, a multifx unit could be a relatively cheap and easy way to get additional flexibility (depending on the unit you get).

Getting an amp will give you the option to get a larger (physically) amp which will give a better sound due to the larger speaker and cabinet, as well as the option to get more tonal options. But a larger amp will, physically, take up more space which may be an issue for you.

A larger amp will also give you some more flexibility, if you think you may need that. For instance, some larger amps can be used, in future, for band rehearsals or even performing.

They needn’t cost the earth either.

Cheers,

Keith

1 Like

And a larger amp is also a lot louder which may not be ideal for home use. A Marshall 15 is great for learning. I still use mine most days at home. My AVOYP’s to date are done on my 25 year old Marshall 15. Have a listen to the tone …