Guitar music transposed up an octave

Hey Guys,

I’m part of a music theory group online, and an interesting discussion arose that piqued my interest.
I had no idea about this, and became a bit fascinated by the topic.

Basically, this is what I took from it;

The guitar is a transposing instrument - specifically by a full octave. So middle C on a guitar ( ie. B string, 1st fret) is actually an octave lower in relation to concert pitch. So, notes sound an octave lower than notated. As such, music notation for guitar is written an octave higher than it sounds. So, if you have a piece written for piano, transpose it up an octave for guitar.

What mysterious juju is this? :crazy_face:

I’ve been studying theory for a couple of years now, and have developed a reasonable foundation, specifically as it relates to guitar. However, I’m still very much a babe in music theory, and had no idea about this fascinating little rabbit hole.

I suppose it doesn’t have a direct affect on day to day playing, or development etc, but fascinating nonetheless, and would be interested in any input from the resident boffins - ie @Richard_close2u , @LievenDV , @stitch etc.

Cheers, Shane

4 Likes

I am no where near that rabbit hole. But have fun with that.

I don’t read notation so probably won’t be much help. What I do know is middle C can be played in 4 spots an an acoustic and 5 spots on an electric.
If I had to learn a piano peace on the guitar I do it by ear and use which ever C sounded good to me.

Yeah thanks @stitch. As you said, with playing a piano piece for example, you’d feel it out by ear and play notes, triads, arpeggios etc in certain areas if the fretboard, as to what sounds good.

Interesting topic though. I suppose I’m always on the lookout for concepts etc, that are not only interesting, but may have some practical application.

Cheers, Shane