Guitar Store Visit

I live a reasonable distance from a decent guitar store so when I was working in a city today, I took the opportunity to pop in to a huge store and was like a kid in a candy store!

I did speak with one of the staff who was a jolly nice chap as I was going to buy a pedal but they were out of stock. He said I can phone in my order the day before I next visit and get stock from another store for me. Prices were good. All in all, a great place I think.

But today’s visit made me think… I’m not sure I’m going to have the confidence to try a new guitar in-store when I come to buy my next guitar! There were a couple of guys in there trying out various models and they sounded great and were obviously very competent players.

So I think I have a new mid-term goal. No new guitar until I have the confidence and ability to not sound like a complete newbie!

Tell us if you still feel this way next week…:wink:

Everyone starts out sounding same, even very competent players. So don’t let being a newbie stop you from playing or buying a guitar in a music store. You may find those very competent player very helpful in making your choose. Not every shredder is a jerk some are actually real people

2 Likes

I can relate to your nerves at the store. I still feel that way because my soloing is really ordinary so when i go I just play rhythm parts of the songs I’m good at.

Yet, your approach of waiting has one side benefit. you’ll focus on getting better with the guitar you have which (unless the guitar is really badly setup) is more likely to improve your skills as compared to buying a new guitar. In my early days of playing I thought i needed a better guitar to improve whereas what I really needed to do was practice a lot more with the guitar I had.