Harley Benton? Is it a good brand?

I’m looking for a Harley Benton CLP-15E Java Exotic parlor guitar but can’t find a independant review.
I’m a beginner and won’t spend a lot of money. I have a Fender CD-60S but the guitar is to big and the neck is to small.
Two questions I like to ask: 1/ Is the Harley Benton any good; 2/ are there other brands, not to expensive, that has a wide neck and not so big as the Fender i have and better than the Harley Benton.
Thanks!

Harley Benton is the “home brand” of Thomann; a large international company from Germany that has a broad range of instruments. They aim at a low tier of the market so don’t expect wonders.
I have a bass guitar from them that proably costed around €160 or €200 and I’ve got what I paid for although I think they’s bang for buck is quite good.

That Fender is a “dreadnought”, a large body size.
I wouldn’t go all the way down to parlor right at once; check the auditorium sized guitars too.

Guessing from your name, you’re from Belgium.
Best is to try in a store of course but if you want to order online, you could try Bax-shop.
They have a 60 day return period.

since i’m no encyclopedia, I don’t know about specific neck widths. You’ll better create a little chart with possible options, researching the specs of the models you

Hi Marcske,

regarding body shapes I recommend the next video from Paul Davids where he goes through most regular shapes on the market right now:

I own an Eastman OM and I really like the size of it. Tried a Dreadnought before, just wasn’t right for me.

Check it out, maybe it helps in your search,
BR Milifax

3 Likes

This might help, a Luthier’s opinion on the brand.

1 Like

I have to admit, I have no clue about neck widths/guitar shapes/etc. (I just learnt quite a bit from the graphic Lieven posted).