Having trouble tuning my guitar

Hi,

So I am a complete beginner and I’m already struggling to get started because I’m having trouble tuning my guitar.

I’ve tried the built-in, various apps (including Justin’s) and I even bought a TC Electronics UniTune. None of them seem to actually find the same tune when I try to tune each string.

I assume the TC E Unitune would be the most reliable one, but after tuning with that, all apps just show issues with 2 of the strings - D and G.

I am using a left-handed guitar, but I assume that wouldn’t cause any issues.

So what is the way forward? It really is discouraging that I’m struggling already.

Thanks,
Mikael

Ones thing I’ve noticed when tuning is sometimes giving the string to be tuned a decent pick will get harmonics going in other strings. A clip on tuner which is picking up the vibrations from the headstock is probably going to a better job of dealing with that than an app which relies on the actual sound coming out.

I’d settle on the UniTune myself, and mute the other strings before making a second pick.

I’ve been very careful only to do one string at a time. I do one string and then rest my finger on the next string, so it won’t resonate as well.

I’ll try and tune it with the clip on and see if I can record it.

how much are they off? just a hair makes no difference, especially when you are a complete beginner. first 6 months or so are more finger mechanics than anything else. you are going to sound like crap until your fingers get adjusted anyway… press on and worry about the small stuff later.

:point_up: what he said… :wink:

They are like WAY off. The app doesn’t even recognize it and ask if I’m playing the right string.

Something not right with either your method or the guitar. Both my clip-on tuners and iPhone app are within a bull’s roar of each other.

Edit: Have you got the app selected to Guitar and not some other instrument?

That is why it is so strange.