Hello ( again ) from Alex in Liverpool

Hi all. This is my second time being on here ( same account etc ). I joined around lockdown but had a brief hiatus from guitar due to life ( had my first baby).

Anyway I’ve returned to the forum and determined to crack singing and playing and develop my live performance skills.

I started playing about 5 years ago. Self taught from the holy trinity of online teachers : Justin, Andy Guitar and Marty Schwartz

Mainly used Justin to follow his early guitar lessons and the structure really helped maintain my interest by giving me small goals.

Anyway I’d really like to get to a live performance standard and develop my confidence for this. The online open mic is an amazing idea and I hope to join the next.

I’ve posted a few vids in the past but just done my first ever recorded singing and playing video. Would appreciate your feedback

Thanks
Alex

8 Likes

Hey Alex, welcome to the community, congratulations on the birth of your first child. Look forward to hearing more from you.

4 Likes

Hi Alex,

I will have to look for your video. I am familiar with Andy, Marty, and of course Justin. Justin has the coolest hat compared to Marty’s Fedora. :rofl: Justin’s methods are fantastic and proven to be a success story. Recording and singing is a big achievement and never easy. I still have a challenge with fancy strumming while singing, but I do what I can for now. I am right there with you wanting to do the open mic event. Try to play for a small group, even if just family. I guarantee people will appreciate you. I have a friend who loves me to come over and play for his family and dad who lives upstairs. They all love my playing and don’t care if I make a mistake or sound basic. Keep at it and you will succeed.

Jeff from California.

3 Likes

Thanks for the welcome everyone.