Hello and help. I'm a newbie and unsure about my progress. Thanks

Help! never used media before and have no idea how it works. Newbie. Just finished Grade 1. Could use some encouragement. Sometimes I play fine , sometimes even the dog wants to leave home. Is this common 4 months in?

5 Likes

Welcome to the forums,

We all have bad days, treasure the good days and figure out what makes them good!

4 months in is hardly any time at all and really depends how much time per day your putting in etc

1 Like

Yes it is not uncommon.

While you keep progressing in several facets of playing, you might perceive some days or timeperiods where things seem to slow down or even regress. This cognitive dissonance happens to all of us.

Meanwhile, you ARE still developing your knowledge, ear, skill, ear,feel,…

Some development is obvious, some is more subtle. You raise the bar for yourself just as fast as on the beginning but some things just need more time. The gap between perception and expectation starts to grow and you feel like you actually suck :smiley:

Making peace with that is part of learning. There will be aha-erlebnisses ahead of you. You will open new doors…but this day, week or even month wasn’t it

Keeping it fresh and fun really pays off in these plateaus. Challenge yourself with a song RIGHT above your current skill and give it a whirl. First the basic chord structure and then more details. Learn a simple fingerpicking part. Find out why some chords go well together and some don’t (spoiler, a lot of it boils down to the major scale ;))

Meanwhile, don’t neglect the songs you were practicing and the stuff you were learning.
Even so, putting your guitar down for a couple of days can help too. Do something else. Approach it from a fresh angle. A good night of sleep is, as many here know by now, often what I propagate as an integral part of the cure :smiley:

3 Likes

Hi @ann47xk and welcome to the forum.