Hello Community! This is Theo from Dublin and I have a quick Q. Should I play lefty or righty?

If you are reading this I could use your advice - I am completely new to the world of music. I have a friend’s electric guitar and only started the lessons with Justin. It’s painful but I am excited to learn!

Thing is, I am a lefty and I have a right-handed guitar. I know it’s not unheard of, but does it make sense for me to continue learning with this setup?

If it helps your opinion, I have dexterity in the fingers on the left hand (writing etc) but my strong arm is the right one ( even though I am a lefty). So it kind of makes sense for me, but friends that play music/guitar told me that I should get a lefty guitar which, is not really feasible at the moment.

Any opinions or advice will be greatly appreciated! Thanks everybody :smiley:

If it works for you keep at it. I have several friends who are lefties who play right handed guitar and it works for them. I’ve seen many theories and discussions on this and at times I wonder if the left handed guitar would be better for right handed people like me, perhaps it’s a historical accident. On the other hand, I’ve also heard it said that whichever hand you are is important for rhythm, hence the reason for why guitars are handed the way they are.

1 Like

For starters Theo welcome to the Community, you are in the right place for advice and support.

More experienced and knowledgably folks will follow me but from what I have seen when similar questions have been raised in the past, the advice has been to seek a lefty guitar. If that is your dominant side in most activities, playing right sided maybe a tough challenge. I am not saying impossible but a hurdle you could avoid by waiting and getting the right guitar for you.