Hello everyone from Koby in Israel

Hi everyone,

My name is Koby. I’m an electric and software engineer, living in Israel. I will be 50 years old this year :slight_smile:

As a youth I played the piano (actually an electric Organ), and about 2-3 years ago, when my kids started playing music at school (trumpet & tuba) I started learning to play the harmonica. I started at a relatively low pace, since I’m mostly pretty busy as work. But I needed something for soul :slight_smile: .
Guitar was always at my home, because my father played it for many years, but whenever I picked it up, I found it extremely difficult and placed it back… On the organ it’s very easy to see where each note is, and very easy to play a desired note. But on guitar, even after understanding the physics of it, and the semi-tone difference between adjacent frets, it still seemed like an impossible mission to just take a sheet of music notes and start playing… It’s not just pressing a key to make a sound like on the organ, you need to know how to press the strings correctly and strum the right one with the other hand, to produce a clean sound. Impossible :rofl:

But learning the harmonica taught me to be more forgiving for myself, and to give myself the time to know the instrument and that it can take time until you can produce a first clean note :slight_smile:

So a few days ago I decided to start learning the guitar, which was always a dream for me, and give it a real try, knowing it will be difficult at the beginning, like any other instrument, but not to break and keep trying.