Hello from Brazil - I'm Yuri for Rio de Janeiro

Hi all,

I’m Yuri (27) from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. I started studying music in Dec 2008, after getting a classical guitar from my grandma. The funny fact is that in Brazil we use the classical guitar to play typical regional songs (MPB) and bossa nova/samba due to nylon strings’ sound.

Throughout all of those years, I’ve been playing a lot of samba and bossa nova songs, and also played for five years in a catholic church, playing religious songs, where I also learn a little bit about how to play drums.

After years of playing my guitar, I bought a p-bass in 2020 to try something new, so since then, I’m studying both instruments as a hobby.

4 Likes

Hi Yuri! Welcome to JG

That should give you quite a solid skill set I think!

3 Likes

Welcome Yuri, with your background I’m really looking forward to hearing more from you, awesome genres!!

2 Likes

Bem vindo Yuri. É muito bom ver outros Brasileiros por aqui.

2 Likes

Welcome to the Community, Yuri. Good to have you here and from that part of the world (not too many South Americans active in the Community)

All I can say is I look forward to hearing you play. You can post recordings in #record-yourself-progress-performance:audio-video-of-you-playing

What are you currently working on in JustinGuitar?

2 Likes

Welcome Yuri, sounds like you will have something really unique to add.

Have fun!

2 Likes

Hola Yuri and welcome to the community. :slight_smile:

It would be great to hear you play some classical guitar.

2 Likes

Hello Yuri, a very warm welcome to the community.
We do have a few people whose preference is to play a nylon string guitar so it will be great for you all if you can share tips and experiences etc.
Cheers
Richard
:slight_smile:

Hi Yuri.
Welcome and good that you provide some variety here :grin:
Greetings and a lot of fun here…Rogier