Hello from Bryan - I have some basic experience playing simple chords in church bands

So, I started off playing guitar for my church 25 years ago. Played in the praise band first for the youth group and later for the entire church. Several years ago went through a deconstruction and left the church for a while. Now, we’re Episcopalian so I’m back in church but MUCH more liberal/progressive than I was way back when.

Playing “secular” music is SO much more fun! Haha Most of what we played back then was so simple (G, C, D repeat) and we were not really allowed to experiment. I remember the drummer in our church band was a former professional and he eventually quit because they kept telling him he was too loud and just wanted him to play straight rhythm without embellishment. The one thing I miss was that at least I got a chance to play with folks a few times a week, even if it wasn’t anything terribly interesting.

Anyone else come from a similar background? I’d love to talk about our common experiences. (Also, I got to be involved a little bit in Christian music for a short time and met a few big names, mostly to my regret. haha)

4 Likes

Hi Bryan (Woah, it feels weird spelling that with a ‘y’ :open_mouth: )
Welcome to the Community!

That’s quite a specific type of musician you’re looking for :laughing:
I’d be surprised if most ‘faiths’ weren’t represented here in the community, including of course atheists and agnostics, but as religion is part of the Trinity we tend to avoid discussing (along with politics and profanity), it’s hard to know for sure :thinking:

I enjoy religious ideas/imagery in music and have been known to share some ‘odd theology’ here.
I’m an Irish Roman Catholic papist but am also a bell-ringer for the local Anglican (CofE) church.
Here’s a song I wrote about my afterlife :smiley:
(details on YouTube)

4 Likes