Hello from Chicago! Nicholas here

Hello Justin Guitar community!

My name is Nicholas and am 25 years old. I’ve been playing guitar now for about 9 months ever since I got out of the Military. I did 5 years in the Navy, and decided that learning to play a few instruments was a great pass time.

With guitar I soon realized that there are an insane amount of things to learn. I have loved every minute of it and actually started to play with people every week jamming! I hope here Justin Guitar can bring me to another level of playing. So far I’m not really sure what level I’m at, but I figure I know quite a few songs at this point.

Some of my inspirations include legendary players like Tommy Emmanuel, David Gilmore, Johnny Greenwood, and B.B. King. I want to become a well versed player and hope that I meet some cool people in the process!

3 Likes

Hey Nicholas,

Welcome mate! Good to see you here.
You’re in the perfect place if you want to progress on the guitar. Justin’s a tremendous teacher, and the community here is full of great folk of all levels, all helpin each other out.
I’d suggest you start at Grade 1, and work your way through. You’ll obviously know a bit already, so can breeze through some of the early lessons, but it’ll fill in any gaps and give you a solid foundation moving forward.
Lookin forward to your progress, and posting a video of you playin a tune when you’re ready.

All the best
Cheers, Shane.

1 Like

Hey Nicholas, welcome to the community. Sounds like you’ve made a great start. It’s been fun the amazing people I’ve met that I wouldn’t have thanks to playing music. Keep at it!

1 Like

Good to meet you! While I live in Minnesota now, I’m originally from the Chicago area (grew up in LaGrange, lived in Wheaton and worked in Naperville). One thing I really miss is the access to all the blues clubs. Some really great blues guitarists playing in multiple clubs every night.