Hello from Chris in Bristol UK

Hi All,
My name’s Chris from Bristol, thanks for letting me join the group.
I guess I started playing of sorts at the age of 12 when my dad came home with an old Vox Stroller which was virtually impossible to play but looked good on my bedroom wall when my mates came round! Unfortunately my dad passed when I was 15 and in his memory my mum helped me buy an Epiphone acoustic which followed me everywhere. While I was at college I went to see the wonderful John Martyn with Danny Thompson on bass and I spent the next twenty years trying to play the Easy Blues to no avail. Anyway, I worked at sea for many years and that old Epiphone has travelled more miles and has had more drunken nights than I care to remember. Then it all stopped and careers and families got in the way. I’m 64 now and having retired ive more time and with Justin’s help I’m starting to realise how bad I really was. Looking forward to relearning - properly!
Thanks for your time - regards Chris.

12 Likes

Welcome Chris, looking forward to hearing the tales of the Epiphone.

Hi Chris,
Welcome and I wish you a lot of fun and there is no better site/teacher to succeed at what you want to play on your guitar journey :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

1 Like

:wave:

R.

1 Like

Hello Chris and welcome aboard. :slight_smile:

If possible it would be great to see an image of your well travelled guitar.

2 Likes

Welcome Chris, hope you have a wonderful time here :+1:

A fellow Bristolian! Welcome Chris. I look forward to hearing that old Epiphone in a AVOYP some day. :+1:t2:

Welcome to the forum Chris

Welcome to the forum Chris. I’ve got a much loved and much played epiphone acoustic, now that i’m retired it’s getting played even more. Look forward to hearing more from you.