Hello from Columbus, Ohio

My name is Jeff and I’m originally from Columbus, Ohio (currently living in Granville, Ohio). I’m 49 years old and bought my Strat in 1998. So, I’m not really a new guitarist. But I’m totally self-taught. There was about a 10 year period where I didn’t play much as I was busy being daddy to a young boy. A few years ago, he finally showed some interest so I dusted everything off and picked back up where I left off.

Because I’m self-taught, I started to lament some bad habits I developed. I was progressing, but felt like I’d be held back by this stuff. I just never had anyone tell me what I was doing could be improved. For instance, I’d struggle with my picking speed all the while knowing that I shouldn’t be down-picking everything. :rofl: My timekeeping needed work.

So, I started along the Justin Guitar journey to “re-learn” the guitar from scratch. I haven’t necessarily needed to do all of the exercises but I have watched every lesson from start to finish. Even on topics I feel I know pretty well like open chords, there are little tidbits (like anchor fingers) that I’ve never explored. I’m forever grateful for this amazing experience.

I’m currently on module 13 and starting to slow down a bit and focus on some new things. Having a great time.

I’m a Phish fan. I thought I could jump right into learning Trey Anastasio leads. It was unrealistic and it was hard to see real progress. I just needed someone to bring me down to earth and teach me the right way. Thanks, Justin! I’m still not there but are we ever? Looking forward to this revised journey!

10 Likes

Welcome to the forum Jeff

1 Like

To play Phish, you are really going to need to play some stamina! I listen to Phish when camping, and I like their originals as well as their long covers.

1 Like

Hi Jeff, welcome to the community forum. I can relate to your story, especially wanting to play complex lead before you are ready. Have fun as you progress toward your goals.

1 Like