Hello from Craig in Jacksonville Florida

Hello everyone. I’m 59 years old and took up guitar again since giving up in my teens. I have a damaged left hand that was the reason I stopped. Simply could not fret the chords. Finally told myself to go left handed as I can strum with my left hand and fret with my right.

Its 4 months and I’m still in the beginners modules, but can sense my body getting comfortable left handed. I love practicing, but can tell I use too much pressure as finger pain sets in. My right hand is getting good, but the challenge is strumming and picking with the left hand. Especially difficult with up/down continuous strums.

Anyway, so glad I started again and glad I stumbled across Justin’s course.

Best,
Craig

9 Likes

Welcome to the forum Craig. good to hear left handed is working for you. Enjoy the journey.

2 Likes

Great stuff Craig, nice to hear you are making progress. I started playing at the age of 53 and 10 years later I’m so glad I stuck with it. I’ve got a brother who lives in Jacksonville, he said the hurricane didn’t cause much damage where he is, hope the same is true for you.

2 Likes

Hey Craig, welcome. Wishing you all the best in you left handed adventure, enjoy yourself :+1:

2 Likes

Hi Craig, a very warm welcome to the community.
I can only applaud and shout bravo for your valiant decision to learn from scratch the wrong way round. That is amazing.
If you need any help, encouragement, friendly chat etc then you’rd in the right place.
Cheers Richard
:slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi and welcome Craig.
I’m left handed but first guitar was rights handed well it was free.
I remember learning some chords and then just tried turning the guitar round and pull the chords with my left hand wow my left hand did not have a clue what to do. I guess in time it would of got there and maybe my rhythm would of been better but left handed guitars did cost more :face_with_diagonal_mouth:

Anyway good luck and enjoy

1 Like