Hello from Dave, a new learner from Wellington, New Zealand

Hi there folks, I’m Dave and I’m picking up a guitar for the first time ever! I am based here in windy Wellington, New Zealand. I’m originally from Leeds, UK, but been out here a while now.
I tried (for about 5minutes) to learn the keyboard when I was a kid, but other than that I’ve no musical experience, so the learning curve is steep. My son started learning the uke a couple of years ago and picked up the guitar last year. I’d always wanted to try the guitar so mucked around with his 3/4 size guitar late last year. I took the plunge and got myself my own acoustic guitar in December and discovered justinguitar. I’m enjoying the structure and as an older learner (40+) finding it a fun but challenging experience. I’m realistic that it will take me a while, but that also its something you never really master.
I’d like to lie and say I practice every day, but life gets in the way - I aim for that but probably achieve every other day since I’ve started. I’m at Module 4. I find D chord super hard, and for some reason my A minor isn’t working as well as I’d like considering its just E on different strings.
I like lots of different music styles - I’m also enjoying discovering some songs that I didn’t know I knew when learning the songs on the course! I’m really enjoying learning the riffs too - its super fun.
If there are any other learners out there in Wellington, it would be awesome to hear from you.

12 Likes

Hey Dave welcome to JG forums

Theres a bunch of Kiwis on here already ( I’m in chc, og form UK too).

Generally as living adults we’ve all got to face a bunch of demands on our time so every other day or whatever is good. It’ll just take longer and tbh it will help with the fingertips etc…

Just make sure you are having fun, and also putting your time to good use.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum Dave

1 Like

Welcome to the commmunity, Dave! :smiley: