Hello from Ed - new user from Tulsa, OK, USA

Hi all. Newbie here from NE Oklahoma.

At 47, I finally decided to get serious about learning after numerous flirtations with learning to play over the years. Went out and bought a cheap Jasmine S34C acoustic a few months back. Started sporadically trying to learn same as I had every other time in the past, looking at chord diagrams and just making things up from there. Mostly a lot of bad habits to break and healthy case of self-doubt yet I found myself thinking if, only I had lessons and took them seriously, I might actually turn out to be somewhat talented.

So begin my quest to find some sort of lessons that got along along well with both my bank account and schedule. Bounced around various youtube channels until one day I hit pay dirt when I landed on JustinGuitar. Free lessons available 24/7! So here I am, signed up and attending grade 1.

Now I have confidence that I may very well learn how to play. So much so that I ran out and bought a Fender FA125CE acoustic/ electric and Fender Acoustasonic 40 amp because obviously I’ll learn so much faster if it’s louder. So I’ve been bouncing back and forth between the two guitars for a few days taking on the first few modules. But, you know, even with ultra-light strings on both guitars I still can’t practice as much as I really want too because my fingers start to complain. Therefore I hypothesized that, if I had an electric, I could practice more because those strings would be easier to press. To test the hypothesis, I drove across town today for a smoking hot deal on a new Squier Bullet Strat HSS Hardtail Limited Edition electric and slightly used Marshall MG100DFX amp. Hypothesis now in testing.