Hello from Georgina in Essex, UK - introduction, my guitar journey etc

Hi, I’m Georgina from Essex. I decided I wanted to learn to play guitar when I was about 30. I started with classical as an absolute beginner and after 4 years and passing my grades 3 and 4 classical wasn’t for me. I wanted to play more blues/rock/contemporary music. I had some private lessons, attended local evening classes and took an intermediate guitar course at The Guitar Institute, London. I didn’t have anyone to play with and became a bit disillusioned as I was going round in circles and not progressing so the guitars went into the loft for 30 years! Then, during lockdown, I found the fantastic guitarist Justin Johnson on YouTube. He fired my enthusiasm again; the guitars came out of the loft and I found Justin Guitar. I have started at the beginning of Justin’s lessons to relearn/refresh what I learnt all those years ago and then to progress on, but I do get a bit sidetracked. I also persuaded my husband that it would be good if he learnt bass guitar to accompany/jam with me! So he now follows his own on-line lessons.

14 Likes

Welcome back to the guitar Georgina and have fun relearning. My wife used to play base guitar in her teens so maybe I can persuade her to give it another shot :roll_eyes:.
Some great people on here with a wealth of knowledge to share and to help you on the way.

3 Likes

Hey Georgina, welcome to the forum. It’s great that you can share your new found passion for guitar with your husband. i started playing 10 years ago at the age of 53 after dreaming about it for much of my adult life. And it’s consumed me in the nicest possible way. My wife has also joined in and learned to pay the ukulele and sings with me on some of my songs. It’s great to share it with loved ones. Look forward to hearing more from you.

3 Likes