Hello from Graham in Northumberland UK

Hi, I’ve been playing guitar for about 6 years now and I’m currently somewhere around Stage 2 and 3 of the JG courses – learning has not been a straight line. I’m in my mid 60s and heading towards retirement with enough time to focus on my playing now. I do have a hand slight tremor which screws up my timing sometimes which is frustrating.

My kit is a Boss Katana 50, a Boss ME-80 multi effects boards and having tried a few guitars my go-to is a PRS SE Silver Sky and (oddly) a Harley Benton TE-90, both are very playable. Having tried a few different online courses, I keep coming back to Justin Guitar because his instruction is so clear and course so well structured.

I’m not a ‘natural’ player and it takes a while to learn some things, barre chords took forever to get to grips with, and I’m now working on moving the E shaped barre from 6th string to 5th string so am working on songs with that change including Man Who Sold the World and The Killing Moon.

My real challenge is that my playing still feels very one dimensional. I can learn the chord changes, follow a stumming pattern and (slowly and clunkily) pick up a simple lick or solo but playing doesn’t really feel spontaneous.

9 Likes

Hi Graham,
Welcome here and I wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses:
Greetings, rogier

Graham @Huderstub
Welcome from a fellow North Eastener.
Michael

Welcome to the forum Graham

Welcome Graham! You’ve found the right place to learn, you can get so much out of Justin’s well structured course! The community is very supportive.

I highly recommend having a look at the Club Sessions here:

You can find a lot of helpful material, inspiration and suggestions to improve.
They paused the Club meetings for a few weeks now, but new ones will be announced here:

I attended mainly the Vintage Club sessions, you can find comprehensive material under the Resources Tabs in the Clubs Archive!

1 Like

Welcome Graham,
Enjoy your journey and have fun…
A