Hello from J.W.C

Hello, everyone. Since I came to this community from the old forums I’m not exactly “new,” but this definitely a new look for the community.

I started playing guitar when I was 16. It was my third instrument (the others being piano and violin), but it was the instrument that most spoke to me, and became my “main” instrument. Unfortunately, I did not take formal instruction in guitar and mostly taught myself. This was unfortunate because it was terribly inefficient and haphazard. I learned, but slowly and in strange “pieces.” I could play and developed some technical ability, but neglected repertoire. This state of affairs lasted many years, during which I’d sometimes let guitar languish, and then find a burst of enthusiasm. I certainly didn’t progress as much as I could’ve.

That changed after my own children became musicians. When they were in school and studying music and practicing their instruments I realized I’d done myself a disservice by never engaging in a formal method of guitar instruction. I found Justin’s site and videos, and set out to correct the problem.

I started by attempting to satisfy the “beginner consolidation” requirements. I could do all of it except for the gaping hole that was repertoire. So I began learning complete songs.

I progressed to the intermediate course. Again, I looked at the consolidation requirements first. Again, I could satisfy many of the requirements already, but there were a few holes. This is where I made the most use of Justin’s lessons and method: to fill in the gaps and round out my abilities as a guitarist. In many ways, Justin’s course taught me how to practice, and it had a profound impact on me as both guitarist and musician, in general. I’ve made more progress in the years since I first found Justin’s site than in the decades that went before.