Hello from Kev - a piano player starting to learn guitar at 48

Hi all. I’m Kev and have just joined the group and loving my first few weeks on Justin Guitar. After years of playing piano and getting to grade 8, I’m back to an absolute beginner having a go at electric guitar. I was wondering if anyone had any experience on whether a piano background will help at all when learning guitar? Did anyone find anything easier by already knowing another instrument? Looking forward to your advice and thoughts. Thanks

10 Likes

Hi Kevin,
Welcome and I wish you a lot of fun,and it is always an advantage if you have experience on another instrument :sunglasses:

Greetings,Rogier

2 Likes

As a pianist (albeit not an accomplished one like you) I found there are quite a few places where you get a headstart learning guitar:

• Hand independence
  • Rhythm
  • Music theory
    and, to some extent, being able to hear notes/melodies/chords in stuff that you hear played.

The music theory bit seems like a big boost, all that stuff about scales and chords and chord sequences is cheerfully familiar.
It is going to be frustrating that your fingers don’t go where you want them to go like they do when you play piano because the muscle memory (and muscle strength) required is different and will take time to develop. Also the target area for your fingers on a guitar is much smaller than a piano key, so there’s that to get used to as well.

Not being a brilliant pianist, I’ve found the stuff I’ve learned on guitar has inspired fun things I can learn to play on the piano too (e.g. improvised blues)

3 Likes

Welcome Kev, I’m sure that your background will help you on your new guitar adventure. Enjoy and have fun. It’s great here, lots of help and support at your fingertips. :grinning:

2 Likes

Hello and welcome to our community Kev. :slight_smile:

I’m sure it will help already knowing an instrument. Enjoy.

2 Likes