Hello from Lance

Hi all,
I started my guitar journey over 30 years ago when I met my wife who had a classical guitar. I started playing around with it but never really got far with it. I’d make some progress and then leave it and then go back to it. eventually I bought an electro-acoustic guitar and an electric guitar and I have been a member of Justinguitar for quite a few years now. Same story of stop start progress but for the last few years, since about a year or two before the first lockdown in 2020 I have been trying hard to play consistently. I even performed a couple of times at open mike nights at the local pub. I have been trying to consolidate my playing by doing grades 1 and 2 and am now looking to move onto grade 3. When I can workout how to do a decent recording I will post something on the site but I struggle to get anything to sound loud enough for anyone to hear. I would really like to be able to play and sing reasonably well and to know a few songs from memory. I’d also like to find someone else who I can play with.

9 Likes

Hey Lance, welcome to the community. Nice to meet you. Sounds like you are progressing well. When I was first learning, someone suggested I learn a few songs from memory. I always thought that was too hard. When I actually tried it, I found it easier than I expected. You just gotta cut that umbilical chord (where is that on the fretboard? haha). Perhaps choose your easiest song as the first one to remember. Look forward to hearing more from you.

2 Likes

Sounds like a familiar tale Lance but you found Justin, so there is a very good chance you’ll stay the course this time around. It worked for me.

Welcome.

:sunglasses:

2 Likes

Hello Lance and welcome.
Kudos to you for sticking with it and putting yourself out there to play at some open mic evenrs. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome to the forum Lance

1 Like

Hi Lance,
Welcome and i wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

1 Like

Welcome!

1 Like