Hello from Mathieu - Québec, Canada

Hello there,

My name is Mathieu and I live in Québec, Canada. I am 29 years old and I am a software engineer. I have been participating in this community for the past year, but I forgot to introduce myself.

I started learning music in high school. We had the choice between taking visual arts or music classes. I hated visual arts so much that I took the gamble on music even tough I didn’t know anything about it. It turned out as a great choice ! I played alto saxophone for 5 years and loved it. I even joined a small jazz band during those years. :smiley: :smiley:

I liked playing saxophone, but if I had the choice, I would have chosen guitar as my instrument in high school. I took a few extracurricular guitar classes with the music teacher, but unfortunately she had to cancel most of them due to her busy schedule :frowning:

After high school, I went to CÉGEP. During the summer of 2011, my parents bought me an acoustic guitar Seagull Performer CW Mini-Jumbo Flame Maple. I tried my best to learn with books and youtube during the summer. After that, life got busy when I moved to another city to attend university. Studies took most of my time.

Here it is now - 10 years later when I joined Justin Guitar in 2021. I am now working on the end of Grade 2. Having a structured course with pratice routine and songs to play along really clicked with me. And this community is the cherry on the top of the cake :smiley:

8 Likes

Welcome in Mathieu, sounds like you’re right on track :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Hey, great story and nice picture!
If you were in a jazz band, some things should sound familiar :smiley:

Welcome and good luck in your journey!

1 Like

Hey Mathieu, welcome to the community. Glad to hear you are enjoying your progress with the guitar. My career before retirement was in software engineering and I still enjoy fiddling with software development.

1 Like

Bonjour, Mathieu.