Hello from Melissa in Chicago, Illinois, USA

Hello All!

My name is Melissa. I am starting my guitar journey 1) because I’ve always loved the guitar, but never had the time to learn. 2) starting now as a way to connect with my teen. I have 2 musically talented teens. 1 has been trained on the violin & self taught on the piano. She has just started her vocal journey with a voice coach & recently bought herself a small starter recording suite. My boy has been trained on the violin & alto saxophone. He recently bought himself 2 different electric guitars & has been teaching himself. After recently spending 2 hours at the guitar store with him, I walked out with an acoustic guitar myself. We practice and learn together. Recently he & a few friends decided they wanted to form a garage band. While driving with the boys, they told me if I get good enough, I can make appearances with their garage band. Kinda a great feeling when your teens want you to part of the things they love!

13 Likes

Hi Melissa and Welcome :grinning:

Your kids sound amazing and it must be fun for you to be learning alongside your son. I have a pre-teen daughter (12) and she usually just retreats to her room when I play. I play electric, and she will frequently tell me to “turn it down” :laughing:

Justin’s beginner course is a great place to start :+1: :guitar:

4 Likes

That’s really awesome. Great to meet you. look forward to hearing more.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum Melissa. Sounds like you have a really musical family.

:rofl:

2 Likes

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

1 Like

Thank you!

1 Like

Hi Melissa,
Welcome ,and how wonderful, a house full of musical instruments,…and people who play them of course :smile:, I wish you a long life with playing guitar and wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

1 Like

Hello Melissa and welcome to our community. :slight_smile:

That is a great story and that coming from a teen as well, you must feel super proud.

1 Like