Hello from Michigan

My name is David, I’m a retired Physical Therapist Assistant and I’m now 66 years old. I first started playing guitar when I was 15. My uncle loaned me his Stella acoustic that had a 1/2 inch gap between the strings and the 12th fret. I had no idea that wasn’t right so I took that and my Mel Bay learn to play guitar book and learned all of the open chords. I joined the Navy after High School and continued to play guitar while serving. I did buy a better guitar :smiley: After I got out of the Navy life went on and the guitar was set aside for a few years. As I was approaching 40 I picked it up and took some lessons and played for about 5 more years before setting it back down. Now I’m 66 and with much more time on my hands, so I’ve decided to learn how to play again and to really learn about all of the theory and techniques that I never learned in my earlier years.

10 Likes

Hello David & Welcome!!!
Maybe I should say welcome “back”!
I hope you find that this is truly a Community with a lot of friendly, enthusiastic & encouraging folks who love guitars, gear & who help each other out!
Good luck with rekindling your passion for making music!

Tod

1 Like

PS… We love to see pics of guitars here!!! :sunglasses:

Tod

Welcome David.
Ya found a great place to come and learn and get much feedback on what your up to, if you want it.

My condolences on your stella.
Your 2 years older than me. But we sure did start in the same place. My first guitar was a stella too. Same action as your too. :frowning: What a horrible guitar to learn on. Of course we didn’t know that at the time.
I was just happy to start getting into guitar. Likely would have went better if I’d have had a real instrument though. Hate is not in my vocabulary if I can help it. But man. I hated that guitar. POS.

Anyways, go get’em man. Hope ya’ve got a newer hip guitar that is a real instrument to play now a days. I’ve for sure moved on from mine.