Hello from Oslo, Norway

My name is Mads and I just started playing the guitar again after having let it gather dust for over a decade.

I first started back in 2008 and played quite consistently on a classical guitar for a couple of years. After picking it up again I found out what I really wanted was to play the electric guitar, so last week I bought myself a present in the form of a Fender strat, and I absolutely love it!

Right now I am doing the Intermediate Grade 5 course. With my skills being a bit all over the place after too much unstructured learning, it was hard to determine which course would be the best fit, but I believe I picked the right one.

In addition to following the official course I am currently having a go at Miss You by the Rolling Stones. I am using Justin’s video to learn it, and my goal is to be able to combine the rhythm part and a few licks effortlessly.

Having read the humorous posts about the suffering wives of this community, I am happy to inform you that I’ve added one to the club. Although I am married and have a toddler at home, I still find time to practise quite a lot in the evenings.

Aside from playing with my teacher for over 10 years ago, I have never had the chance to jam with someone, so if any of you are in or close to Oslo and want to jam, please send me a DM!

3 Likes

Oh man, I think the suffering wives thread was started by me :flushed:. Too much noise, not enough peace.

Sounds like you’ve had quite a bit of experience, would be great to see a video in the AVOYP section at some stage.

Welcome to the community.

The suffering wives thing gives the community a bit of flavour :grin:

I would really like to contribute with a video soon, just need to get more practice first! Watching others progress is really a good motivator for me.

Welcome to the Community, Mads. Always a delight to hear somebody coming back to guitar and loving it.