Hello from Pittsburgh

I’ve been using Justin’s beginner course since about July. I am new to guitar, but did play violin, flute, and baritone (horn) as a kid. I’m now in my 40s and very much enjoying the guitar.

I have existing issues with hypermobility in my hands, which can cause me all kinds of trouble if I try to play a whole song. (Carpal tunnel in this case and after it’s fixed it should be ok.) That’s really frustrating for me and I’ve had to relax a little with the practice time.

Right now I’m in module 12, the intro to blues one. Most of what i practice just now is changes from open to barre chords and vice versa; major and minor scales, pentatonic scales, triad arpeggios across the fretboard, scales played in 3rds… you get the idea. It’s a good thing I’ve always liked playing scales! I’ve also been working on ear training and figuring out single note melodies (usually the vocals).

At any rate, I’m happy to be here! Hoping to get this wrist issue fixed and then go back to being able to get 2ish hours in most days!

12 Likes

welcome to the forum Jennifer

Hello Jennifer & welcome!!!
This is a pretty friendly place with lots of nice helpful people who are glad to help out!
Hope all goes well with your carpal tunnel issue…
Good luck!!!

Tod

Hi Jennifer, welcome to the community!

Welcome Jennifer, it sounds like you’ve been making terrific progress with the course regardless of your challenges. Hope you can get that sorted out but most of all I hope you continue to have fun with guitar!

Hi Jennifer, Welcome sounds like you have a raft of music knowledge and experience sound like you putting it to good use.
Hopefully you challenge will get resolved good luck for the future.
A

Hi Jennifer,
Welcome here and I wish you a lot of fun and with 2 hours a day your process will progress nicely :sunglasses:(think about the position of your wrist to prevent injuries and such a big setback)

Greetings,Rogier