Hello from Seattle

Hi everyone,

My name is Rob and I live in Seattle. I fortuitously decided to buy a guitar in January of 2020. Little did I know at the time how much free time I would have to put it to use.

Since the day I got my guitar, I have played every day with the exception of a couple of weeks of travel. When I started learning, I was using Fender’s Play online lesson program but then found Justin Guitar after a few months and made the switch.

Last year I worked through all of Grade 1 and started Grade 2 before I had learned just enough to be dangerous and then went off on my own and learned a bunch of songs. I played every day, had a lot of fun and learned some new things, but I felt that my foundation was lacking. So like many around here, I found myself back at the beginning of Grade 2 and trying to refine everything as much as possible.

Also, like many around here, this is my second stint at learning guitar. My first try was more than 25 years ago and only lasted for six months. Now that I’m older and life is more settled, I’m hopeful that I’ll be a guitar player for the rest of my life.

Thanks to everyone that makes this such a great place. I’m glad to be here.

7 Likes

Welcome to the Community, Rob. Your story is like many of ours, and guitar player the rest of our lives is how things rock n roll.

As you consolidate and refresh, I’d suggest making some recordings to share in AVOYP - #all-about-your-music:audio-video-of-you-playing - it’s a great way to get feedback and encouragement.

Hey Rob,