Hello from South-East England

Hello Everyone,

I am Molly and I’ve known justinguitar.com since I started to learn guitar 18 years agowhen I was in my thirties. If only I had practised and played all those years … water under the bridge. Here is my story.

When I started playing guitar I had private lessons for a few years - but they can take you only so far, at some point you have to take your guitar journey into your own hand. And justinguitar always had some great song tutorials or other lessons to watch and get ideas for what to practise next. But it is easy to start drifting and loosing focus if you are not sure where you want to go and if then life gets busy … I think a few people here are familiar with this scenario.

In my case I played less and less and then stopped playing altogether for five years. Busy life was one reason, but another factor was not being sure where I wanted my guitar journey to go. I always thought I just learn to play songs I like to listen to on the radio, mainly electric guitar, but that was a very random walk and never feeled really right either. During the years I was not playing I regularly thought “this is not great, something is missing” without doing anything about it. But there was a particular set of songs where I always thought “I really want to be able to play these songs”. Music that touched me on an emotional level and not just catchy tunes. Townes van Zandt was on the list and a few other singer-songwriters. Their music was different to what I used to play before my hiatus. And eventually their music made me pick up my guitar again - I so badly wanted to be able to play their songs that I was giving it second go to see if I can learn the songs.