Hello, from Sylvie in New Jersey, USA

Hello everyone. Just wanted to introduce myself. I have been watching some of the interactions in this group and you all seem so supportive of each other. That is truly wonderful. I am also an old newbie. I picked up my first ever guitar last September (2021) at a garage sale for $60! Bought a couple of beginner guitar books but really didn’t know what I was supposed to do next, except that I was quite excited about holding a guitar and learning to play it. THEN I stumbled unto Justin’s lessons and videos on YouTube and I was hooked. I signed on to his website and subscribed to his Song App and have been having so much fun with it. That good ol’ guitar lasted me until January when someone I know explained that the “action” was too high which explained the finger pain. Such complexity that I had never realized about guitars. Anyway, I then bought myself a nice Ibanez acoustic which I really enjoyed until I met my mini Taylor…. And of course just had to get that also :). So I am continuing my music journey with the fabulous help of Justin’s lessons and Song App. I am currently on Lesson 13 and really like the blues, however I am not sure about an acoustic guitar with the sounds of the Blues songs. Nevertheless I love the sounds of the 7th chords so I will continue to practice them. I have also been jamming with a good friend for several months, however, she is now moving away so it is really nice to find this group so that I can read about your experiences and watch your progresses through your videos. I do plan on making a progress video one day but for now prefer to stay in the background, with my two main fans: my husband and my doggie, until I work up the courage to go “public”. I look forward to getting to know all of you better. Bonne Journée!

1 Like

Greetings from just across a bridge in Philly!